Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why NO picture files?

Real Name
    David

Why NO picture files?

I'm hoping that more experienced photographers can explain something that I haven't been able to figure out. When using an external flash mounted on the camera, how is it possible to trigger that flash without triggering the shutter and taking a picture?

I recently experienced a very strange result, at least to me, when trying to photograph a good size group of people. To be honest I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to using modern digital cameras. As such, I have no idea whether or NOT it matters but the equipment involved in this incident is a Canon EOS R mirrorless camera with a Canon RF 24-105mm F4 L IS USM lens and a Canon Speedlite EL-100 flash.

The scene for the photograph I was wanting to take was outdoors, after sunset, on a hotel patio which had some but limited lighting. There was a group of, between 50 and 60, people with the camera equipment attached to a tripod and positioned on a deck about one story above the group. Both the camera and the flash were set in fully automatic mode. The picture was composed and the live view on the display screen showed a picture that would have been acceptable even though NOT great because of the limited amount of light.

As it turned out I also was part of the group so I asked someone else to take the picture (i.e., press the shutter release button). While I cannot be absolutely certain that the shutter release button was used as expected I am certain that the flash was discharged as expected. This was done several times in a effort to obtain multiple raw files (pictures) to choose from given that you never get pictures of groups where everyone likes how they look.

However, when I went to retrieve the raw files for post processing there were none.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Why NO picture files?