Thread: Flare Repair

Real Name
    Al

Flare Repair

What is the best technique to remove the flare spot on the right shoulder? I have CS5, and I tried the color brush, but the spot is still very apparent... just a different color. I'm thinking that the best option may be using the clone stamp (for color) and patch tool (to restore the original texture after the clone), but I'm a real newbie at PS. Thanks in advance for advice and suggestions.

Flare Repair

Real Name
    Mike Bareham

Re: Flare Repair

I would use the clone tool.
    If you enlarge just the section of the image affected, you will be able to obtain a much finer control of the tool.

Hi,

Start with the Color Replacement brush. Set the mode to Color, sampling to once, limits to Contiguous and the Tolerance around 20%. Your choice of foreground color will make a big difference -- set the foreground color by sampling from the area just outside the spot -- you might try a couple different color choices.

Once the color is corrected the spot will still be too light and too flat. Use the History brush to paint in a correction. Set the History brush blending mode to Multiply (darken) and to Overlay (raise contrast). Set the opacity low (12%) and the brush edge real soft. Paint back and forth between the two blending modes until the spot blends in.

Joe

P.S. Hi all -- I'm new here -- just signed on over the Xmas break.

Real Name
    Al

Thanks, everyone. I'll try your suggestions and see what I can come up with. This may take a couple of days, but I'll post the result (and the technique used) if/when I obtain something I think is acceptable. Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Peter

Here is a trick I fell upon by accident.

Select the area with the elliptical marquee tool and the apply a curves adjustment to the selection by darkening it to suit. You can also use levels by raising the black clipping point and fine tuning with the mid-tone point.