Thread: Wisdom of unnecessary camera repair

Real Name
    David

Wisdom of unnecessary camera repair

This novice would welcome a little advice from those of you with more expertise. My current dilemma pertains to cameras. So far I've never had a need to seek repairs covered by warranty. However, I'm now confronted with a situation where I should be entitled to such but question the wisdom of doing so.

I recently purchased a new camera with warranty protection for the first year. However, while new as in NOT previously used it is a relatively old model. I believe it was first brought to market in 2015 but is no longer being made. I've been using it for about 3 months now and recently figured out that whenever I remove the battery the date and time gets lost and needs to be reset. Because date and time depend on some kind of clock that must be powered continually even when the battery is removed, I suspect the problem is attributable to some kind of internal battery dying.

It does seem to me that this is a problem that lots of electronic gear must confront. In some cases replacing the gear may be a reasonable way to solve the problem. However, cameras can be a bit expensive and in this case I opted to buy the camera in question because of some specific and unique features that are NOT readily available on others at least for a price that would appeal to me. Therefore, replacement is NOT an option.

Seems like this is a problem that serious photographers must have to deal with and that it ought NOT be terribly difficult to solve. What about that?