Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon 24mm PC-E f3.5 lens

Dartmoor, Devon, ENGLAND the most beautiful place in Britain
    Real Name
    Kevin Peden

Nikon 24mm PC-E f3.5 lens

Hi All

I'm New to all this forum stuff, so please be patient.

Is there anyone out there that has experience with the 24m f3.5 PC-E LENS???

What I would like to know is :- Is the performance, in terms of sharpness, as good when used as a conventional 24mm wide prime as I'm told it does when used as a shift lens ???? or would I get a better performance from, say, the 24mm f1.4 prime wide lens????

My wedding and portrait business has just been sold, so I'm taking up landscape, cityscape and a bit of street photography among others as personal projects.

I have been a wedding, portrait and event photographer for the most part of my civilian life. Now its time for me and my own projects. I don't believe in buying equipment for the sake of it, at the same time, I don't believe in buying "CHEAP" as it has to work hard and earn it's keep.

Most of my wedding and portrait work has involved using Large and Medium format gear, although I have owned and used the Nikon F2, F4, F5, F6, however, I went totally digital a couple of years ago and sold all my film gear, something I regret a little, as I miss the magic of film processing & printing but not the cost.
    I now have 2 x Nikon D3s bodies & a D700 and plethora of prime and zoom lenses. However, the 24mm PC-E lens seems ideal for landscape and cityscape as well as for street photography when used as a conventional 24mm lens.

Has anyone gone any opinions/experience ref. this lens or an alternative.

Kev.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Nikon 24mm PC-E f3.5 lens

Kevin

Couldn't tell you anything about this lens or how it performs compared to others.