Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DSLR or ultrazoom point and shoot?

DSLR or ultrazoom point and shoot?

I have been using a Canon A95 for several years but it is old and out-dated. I was looking at the Canon XS30IS or Nikon P100. No real reason that I picked these other than I am comfortable with these brands and if I start reading too much, my head starts to spin. Now I'm thinking of DSLR, Canon T1i in particular since it fits more into my budget. You can spend several small fortunes on equipment and I just need to draw the line some where. I was wondering how to compare the zoom on a point and shoot to a DSLR, eg. 35x for the sx30is and a EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS. I have no idea what any of that means. Haven't gotten all the terminology down yet. Also, is the DSLR a good entry level camera that will be usefull for some time to come. Thanks.

Re: DSLR or ultrazoom point and shoot?

Briefly put, point-and-shoot is for snapshots, not serious photography. The Canon Tii is very good and a great value too. You should think carefully of what lens you choose. The 55-250 is a good lens, but it is not wide enough for example to take indoor pictures of the dog or kids. But it is long enough to shoot birds if not too far away. So my advice would be to think about the kind of pictures you would take, and then choose the lens or lenses.

Real Name
    Elise