Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Some Criticism Wanted

Real Name
    Jeff Mollman

Some Criticism Wanted

Ok, this is my first attempt at a real HDR using advanced software. I've tried and tried to get nice results with PS CS4 but don't seem to have the knack. I've used some cheesy open source software but had really weird artifacts and haloing happening so I decided that was not the way to go. I'm currently on the 15 day demo of NIK's HDR effex pro.

so... tear the image apart for me. Everything from tuning to composition.

Some Criticism Wanted

One of my bigger questions with the image is whether or not the branches in the upper left corner add or subtract from the image. I think I like them but I'm curious to know what you all think.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Some Criticism Wanted

Jeff

The EXIF data is stripped out. So could you post it up. Shutter, Aperture, Camera , Lens etc.

Jeff

I think this is HDR processing tastefully applied. Given the end result it begs the question what you may have gained over single image tone mapping. All that aside I do like the overall effect of the image. There is no focal point but it doesn't actually detract from this being a pleasing shot. The branches to the left do need to be taken out and there is a lack of sharpness. I am not sure if this is a result of the processing or an effect of shooting into the sun. The blown out area around the sun is inevitable and is giving some haziness in the trees. I actually think that adds to the image but you have only just gotten away with it.

A nice image but I do not think that is because of the application of HDR processing. If this is the type of result you want (and I hope it is..over the looney toons HDR processing) then I would be giving serious consideration as to whether I wanted to go any further than the trial software.

Real Name
    Jeff Mollman

Canon EOS 1Ds mk3
    ef16-35 f/2.8L II

aperture was 4.5