Thread: Advise on Tripods

Real Name
    Sara

Advise on Tripods

Hi Everyone,

I'm thinking of getting a tripod but if I'm honest, I have no idea what to look for or the differences in features between them...they seem to vary alot in price.

Probably important things for you to know about me is a) I'm a newbie! b) I have a Canon 500D (not sure if thats important?!)

If anyone can recommend a style or make or just tell me what I should be looking for, I'd be really grateful.

Sara

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Advise on Tripods

Sara

All boils down to - 'How much money have you got to spend?' - as everything seems to do.

Carbon fibre tripods are the top of the tree ... but expensive.

The other key question you have to answer is - what weight will you be putting onto the tripod (and head); i.e. combined weight of camera and lens? There are different tripod/head combinations depending on how big a cameras and lens you'll be putting onto it.

The problem of course, is that you musn't only think about the here-and-now. You've got to project into the future and judge where you think you'll be, photographically, in, say, 2 to 3 years from now. Because you don't want to spend money on something now and then find that you've got to replace it in a couple of years.

You need to do research not only into the tripod itself, but also the head that you put onto the top that the camera attaches to - they are generally sold seperately. So, you choose your tripod and then you choose your head and you put the two together ... and then you're ready to go.

I use a Manfrotto tripod and head. Manfrotto is, I think, a very good middle-of-the-road manufacturer and you'll find that a lot of people on here use their products. I am not suggesting that you should purchase one of their products, as there are many to choose from. But they do have a useful website on which you can learn much more about choosing what's right for you. Click here for their site.