Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Good Manual/Book for Canon 40D?

Real Name
    Sarah

Good Manual/Book for Canon 40D?

Hello,

I'm looking for a good intro book or manual (other than the user manual) to help me learn more about my Canon 40D (which I won't be acquiring until Christmas, but still want to learn now).

Any suggestions? Has anyone ever used a Magic Lantern book or Wiley Digital Field Guide?

Thanks in advance!

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Good Manual/Book for Canon 40D?

Sarah

I have no experience of any other publication other than the user manual.

I can't see why anyone would want or need anything else. Study the user manual (mine is now so thumbed that the pages are falling out - it stays in my bag and I still consult it from time-to-time). It tells you all that you need to know if you take the time to study it. And then go out and start shooting lots and lots of photographs.

I have this one for my 50D, and it's actually pretty good. Covers all the controls in an easy to read style, and explains some of the basics of photography. The bad news is that he doesn't seem to have one for the 40D.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Canon-50D-Sn...9600098&sr=1-1

Here's the Amazon list for 40d Canon, but I'm not familiar with any of them. Others may be.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...89600535&enc=1

I think the ones you mention are listed there.

I agree with Donald. I read the manual through once. I some times go back to it if there is something I can't quite remember but that does not often happen. In fact at this point in time I don't know where it is. I got to know the camera by using it. The camera needs to become part of you. It is your third eye. You can only do this by using it. Our brains respond far better from making the mistakes and practical experience. We do not respond so well to third party experience.