Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Canon 1000D + 2 kit lenses - good deal?

Canon 1000D + 2 kit lenses - good deal?

I have been offerd this pakage for 448 uk pounds.

I am relativly new to photography and was wondering is this a good deal or not, i have been using my canon power shot s5 is for about 3 years and I'm ready to move onto something more advanced.

Canon EOS 1000D with EF-S 18-55mm DC and EF 75-300mm III Lens Kit .

Thanks for your help,
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 8th November 2010 at 08:37 PM. Reason: improved thread title

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Canon 1000D + 2 kit lenses - good deal?

Jonathan

I'm going to give an answer that's not an answer (but, honestly, I'm not a Liberal Democrat).

It depends.

It depends on two primary things.

Firstly - Is it what you want? Don't buy it just because it's available. Have you been thinking about this for a while? Is it a 1000D that you want? Are those the sort of lenses that you want? How much research have you done into camera bodies to see a) what would fit with your budget and b) what would fit with what you want?

Secondly - You don't say anything about the equipment or where it's coming from. Do you know it's in very good or perfect condition? Who is the seller? How does the price compare with what you'd pay elsewhere for these components? If it's a lot cheaper than anywhere else - Why?

I appreciate that when we see an offer that looks so good, we just want to jump in and go for it. But please take a step back and, try and set aside the emotional bit of you and put your hard-headed, objective face on.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Jonathan,

A quick google reveals it isn't a huge bargain, fairly average - in fact Amazon uk seem to do camera and one lens for £399 + £23.65 for the 75-300mm!

I'd echo Donald's caution and questions.

The 1000D is about as basic as a DSLR goes, will it be enough?

Hi guys