Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice for studio triggers and metering

Real Name
    Mike

Advice for studio triggers and metering

Hello,

I'm a landscape photographer who is diving into the world of studio lighting. I plan on mostly shooting products and headshots. I'm looking into getting 2 Impact Venture 600 flashes and want to know the best way to meter and trigger them. Impact makes a radio controller for their flashes but is cannot be triggered from a light meter. Is that really much of an issue? If so is there any other option out there other than pocket wizard that can be triggered from a light meter? I was interested in Youngnuo brand because of the price advantage.

Thanks for helping out!

Mike

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Advice for studio triggers and metering

Mike - Welcome to CiC. Would you mind clicking on the "My Profile" button on the top of this page and adding at least your first name and where you are from to your profile?

When it comes to radio triggers, I think you will find that these are all proprietary in nature and different brands do not mix at all and if they do, it is at a very basic level; i.e. firing the flash but no remote control of the flash. The closest thing out there to a "universal" design are the PocketWizard units, but as you have noted these are quite expensive.

If you want to trigger a flash from a flash meter, so far as I know you are going to be stuck with the Sekonic / PocketWizard combination.

I use PocketWizard with my Paul C Buff Einstein 640 studio lights as well as my Nikon Speedlights and use my Sekonic L-358 with the PocketWizard compatible radio to trigger the units. I use the PocketWizard Zone Controller to remotely manage the lights (it supports 3 separate zones in 1/3 stop increments). The only work around I see if you want to go with lower cost triggers is to buy an extra trigger and use it off-camera to trigger the lights while metering.

Real Name
    Kathy