Thread: High Contrast, Dark Background

Real Name
    Catherine

High Contrast, Dark Background

I am new to photography, new to CIC, and new to forums, so apologies in advance if this is a foolish question and the wrong spot for me to post. I have read the tutorials Understanding Camera Histograms and Camera Metering but I still wonder what the best approach would be to try and get a better shot of the following duck. They will be here in Ottawa for a couple more weeks so I should have the chance to do better. The grey water, the black and the white on the duck - I am not sure of the approach to take. I have a Nikon P900 so I don't have as many possibilities as I would with a DSLR but I know better shots are possible. Thank you

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: High Contrast, Dark Background

Catherine - I've moved your image and question to the "Nature & Architecture" forum. You are more likely to get comments and suggestions here.

While I am looking at your image; yes, the shot is definitely a bit underexposed, but getting the exposure right is a bit tricky, given the colouration of the duck. The light area is all to easy to "blow out"; i.e. locally overexpose it when brightening up the rest of the image.

You might also try to hold your camera level when shooting as this tends to give you a stronger image. The shot is not 100% sharp so this could be a focus or camera movement issue.

Finally, when shooting something that is moving, it is usually best to leave a more space in front of your subject to optically give it some space to move in to.

All of these things will come with practice, once you understand what you are doing right and doing wrong.

Last edited by Manfred M; 6th November 2017 at 04:07 PM.

Real Name
    Nandakumar

Hi catherine; it is a fairly good image; it would be better the duck is more into the frame than leaving out of the frame, i suppose; For the next week wish you happy duck-ing

Real Name
    Catherine

thank you for your replies!