Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Filter question - do I need one?

Filter question - do I need one?

So I'm new at taking pictures and I just bought my firs SLR camera, and I was wondering if I need to use a filter for the type of pictures I'm shooting...

I purchased a Nikon D200 with a Nikkor 80-200mm 1:2.8 D Nikon ED from a friend for the only purpose of shooting pics of sports (football, soccer, baseball...ect.)

I was wondering if it is necessary for me to us a filter or not? I guess I’m looking for more of a protection to the lens than anything else.

Any comments will help me a lot as a first time user.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Filter question

Hi Peppy,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me, good to have you join with a question.

A lot of people, myself included, do use a 'UV' filter to protect the front element from damage caused when cleaning or careless handling of lens caps, etc.

Anticipating the next question
    I use Hoya Pro-1 Digital as a 'middle of the road' solution - good performance, reasonable price, although the 77mm size you'll need for that (rather nice) lens will be a bit pricey - just looked it up, from Amazon UK (dunno where you are) it is about £38 to protect an £800+ lens, so actually not too bad.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Peppy,

I'm afraid that it's one of those questions like "Mac or PC" or "Canon or Nikon" that tends to draw very polarised responses from people. The "no filter camp" always argue that "it degrades image quality" whereas the "filter camp" (to which I firmly belong to by the way) argue that there's no detectable image degradation.

Personally, I think it's a no-brainer ...

- Using a filter protects the front element

- Cleaning a filter is much safer than cleaning a front element (especially if salt / grit / mud etc are present)

- On rare occasions (usually high-contrast night scenes) where a filter - may - increase flare, it's a trivial matter to remove it temporarily.