Thread: Need Help with HDR

Need Help with HDR

Hello all I’m new to the HDR. So if you can help please do so. I have a SONY A350 it take 3 photos in RAW format. But it not much different 1st -0.3 2nd 0 and the 3rd is +0.3 or the other setting is -0.7, 0, +0.7. So my question is can I somehow go in Photoshop CS5 and change the EV or something els on the same photos and save as new photos then do the HDR

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Need Help with HDR

Hi "dwalley",

Welcome to CiC - it's great to have you with us. What's your first name?

HDR is needed when the dynamic range (or "range of brightnesses") in a scene is too much for the sensor in a camera to handle in a single exposure - so we break the scene down into several shots, with each capturing a portion of the scenes dynamic range. In the vast majority of cases there is little point in capturing information less than 2 stops apart; steps of 0.3 or 0.7 are pretty close to "nothing" (as you've already discovered).

Unfortunately, "changing the EV in Photoshop" isn't possible because it's all about the information that's been captured. Information that's too bright for the sensor to record isn't recorded, and no amount of adjustment in Photoshop is going to reveal something that wasn't recorded in the first place. Conversely, if the light levels are too low then the shadow detail gets buried amongst the sensor's background noise, and no amount of processing is going to seperate the two.

What DOES confuse a LOT of people though is the fact that the average camera sensor does capture a LOT of information that we can't see without manipulating it into a range where it's visible; Case in point, your A350 is capable of recording a dynamic range covering 11.5 stops, and yet the average monitor is only capable of displaying around 6 stops, and the average print only capable of displaying around 4 stops ... so there's already a LOT of information hidden away that we can make good use of.