Thread: Beginner/Intermediate - Should I go for Lightroom 6 or Photoscape Pro X?

Real Name
    Sergio M

Beginner/Intermediate - Should I go for Lightroom 6 or Photoscape Pro X?

I have been using the trial Photoscape for a bit for some light to moderate photo editing. I want to move up and thought big on Lightroom 6 since I am shooting in both JPEG and RAW. As of now, though I have the Photoscape trial, I've been editing only my JPEG photos. I'd like to get Lightroom 6 for editing my RAW shots, but I can also do the same with Photoscape Pro. Difference being, Photoscape Pro is available for $29.99 as opposed to Lightroom 6 which I can download for $142 through Amazon. Since I have NEVER used Lightroom before, is it safer to just try Photoscape to begin and do Lightroom later? Would the editing of my photos at my more beginner/ intermediate level be more appropriate with Photoscape? I'm pretty ambitious and don't mind a learning curve.
    I am currently shooting mostly landscape and city photography with my Canon Rebel T6i, which I'm aware is not the ideal landscape and low light camera, thus I kinda want a good editor to more or less "fix" any issues due to my camera's limitations. All of my shots simply do not feel sharp or crisp enough despite how much natural light and quick shutter speeds I can take advantage of during my daylight shots. Any advice is helpful. Also, is there anything I should be aware of when editing in RAW?

Real Name
    Michael

Re: Beginner/Intermediate - Should I go for Lightroom 6 or Photoscape Pro X?

While you can edit RAW photos, what you are seeing on the screen is not the RAW image itself but a conversion to what the RAW image would look like if you were to convert it from RAW into a normal image file. RAW images themselves look strange because they have not been processes (demosaic'd, etc.). There are articles on this site that do a good job explaining.

Editing RAW files should be no different than editing JPEGs in my opinion.