Thread: Step up filter ring

Step up filter ring

Hi,

I'm new to the forum. I really appreciate digital photography and I had started to learn how to produce what I think it's beautiful from this website. So I thought I would give the forum a try.

I have a pretty basic but specific question, since I have NO experience with lens filters.

Can step up rings compromise image quality, say creating extra vignetting, or flare? I'm not talking about the filter itself; just the ring. If I use a step up ring from, say, 49mm to 52mm, or 52mm to 77mm, for a CPL, ND, GND (with a linear gradient), or a four point cross filter, will that be in any sense not as good as using the right size filter directly attached?

Thanks
    -Leo

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Step up filter ring

Hi Leo,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me, good to have you start with a question.

As long as we are talking about the GND/CPL/etc. filter diameter being bigger than the lens filter thread, which is usually what step up means, then no, you normally* wouldn't see any vignette.

* I might envisage that fitting a stepup ring of just one small step size up (say 49-52) on the front of an already fitted UV filter and then having a fairly thick filter on the front of that just might be an issue because the depth of the ring plus the new filter exceeds the step up in diameter - but I think this is unlikely to happen unless the lens is fairly wide angle in reality.

The only other quality reducing factor would be if this filter assembly is used without a lens hood (or pokes out in front of it) and there is a significant amount of off axis light hitting the filter - that might cause a vieling flare.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Leo,

A big welcome from me too

I agree with Dave, but I'd just like to quickly add a few things ...