Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Diffraction, depth of field and sensor size

Real Name
    Piet (Petrus) van Rensburg

Diffraction, depth of field and sensor size

Hi,

I joined CiC a month ago and I did introduced myself in the Common Room.

I am a bird photographer, but do also macro work. Since I am using a Nikon D300 camera, f11 is the smallest aperture that I use due to diffraction. I did considered to "upgrade" to a full frame camera (D700/D3) where you can go to F16 before diffraction gets really noticable.

It is not possible for me to get my hands on a full frame to compare it with the D300. So I did a few calculations by comparing diffrent sizes sensors for the same FoV at the same number of pixels (12mp) and at their diffraction limited aperture. The results are as follow:

Format size____Focal length____CoC______Aperture____DoF at 2m____DoF at 20m
    36x54.............128...................0.025..... ..19................223mm.........36 069mm
    24x36.............85....................0.017..... ..13................228mm.........36 229mm
    20x30.............71....................0.014..... ..10.5.............229mm..........36 282mm
    16x24.............57....................0.011..... ..8.4...............231mm..........36 336mm

Focal length is for the same FoV for the different sensor sizes.
    CoC is taken for 2 pixels.
    Aperture is at diffraction limit where CoC=airy disk.
    Calcultions were done with Max Lyons photographic calculators http://www.tawbaware.com/maxlyons/calc.htm