Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Carrying two or more cameras...

Real Name
    Richard

Carrying two or more cameras...

I did a mini-review of the Optech Dual Harness for Amazon.com and thought I would share it with the Cambridge in Colour members. I have been using the Dual Harness for several months now and really like it.

I almost always shoot with a pair of cameras because I can have a very wide focal range at my instant disposal with a fast f/stop in my mid-range zoom (17-55mm f/2.8 IS), excellent IQ throughout the range (from 17-55mm f/2.8 IS to 70-200mm f/4L IS) and very fast and accurate autofocus. IMO, the two camera system is far superior to using a wide focal range lens such as 18-200mm with its inherrent slower aperture, slower and less accurate auto-focus and lower image quality.

The only problem with using two cameras is how to efficiently carry these two rigs and, of course, the extra weight this system involves.

I made the transition from using a pair of Canon OEM straps (which tangled too much) to the OPTECH Reporter Strap. The Reporter Strap kept the two cameras when used without flashes from tangling but, had two issues about which I am not fond:

1. The weight of the two cameras was around my neck and when working with relatively heavy lenses caused my neck to ache after a long day of shooting. This was the primary downside of the Reporter Strap.

2. I had problems when using a flash on each camera (especially when using bounce mode with a Joe Demb Flash Diffuser Pro attached). The problem was that the lower camera's reflector would frequently tangle with the upper camera.

The Dual Harness solves both of these problems. ( http://optechusa.com/product/detail/...&CATEGORY_ID=4 )