Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: constant improvement

Real Name
    Chris

constant improvement

I realise I am always making comments on everyone elses pics here but have never put one up for you to have a pot at, so here is one from Hereford cathedral. Historically & architecturally the interest is in the fact that there were several partial rebuilds all before 1200 (see Wikepedia entry) and you can see the joints between the rather rural earlier effort and more sophisticated improvements. I am cheating as I am a retired architect.

Photographically its (a) trying to get the exposure right for mix of daylight, artificial and not to blow the stained glass (b) where to set the zoom and crop. You can be suitably relaxed if you ask anyone on duty and, becoming more common, pay a photography fee.

In churches I use a mini-tripod held onto furniture etc and try a few exposures until I think I am there (1/5 sec f4.5). Its the Nikon 18-135 kit lens, actually at 35mm. I seriously advise against going below 20ish, better to do pano technique. NX2 has a lens distortion corrector & I believe some lens manufacturers do plugins for particular lenses

In PP, apart from usual stuff, in this one it has been easy to get a horizontal base line and sometimes use an unskew to get the perspective under some sort of control. Never try to totally unskew as churches and cathedrals are tall enough for vertical perspective to be seen by eye and full correction looks like outward lean. Wasn't needed here as there was a high rest point.

Chris - more on www.pbase.com/crisscross/herefordetc
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by crisscross; 16th November 2008 at 09:23 AM.

Real Name
    David

Re: constant improvement