Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why is the Photoshop default brightness +50?

Why is the Photoshop default brightness +50?

Hi all!
    I am an amateur photographer and I have until recently used a Nikon D3000 for all my pictures - mostly children, "events" and portraits, lately. Something that had always bugged me with my D3000 was that I had the feeling all or most pictures were underexposed, and that was confirmed by Photoshop (my interpretation), since it always got my pictures a +50 brightness. So I always reduced the brightness, lifted the exposure to sth. between +0.40 and +0.95, then reduced the noise and, sometimes, got some fill light as well. Still, apart from considering this is pretty much work for little (shouldn't th default be different?), I was also frustrated by getting noise into the pictures when it's not necessary.
    So I very recently switched to a Canon 60D with pancake lense, and to my big surprise (and disappointment), there it is again: Photoshop +50 Brightness as a default, and although the image is definitely not as dark as with my Nikon, it still needs either brightness or a higher exposition.
    I don't get it: why is Photoshop set this way? Is it the right thing to fussle around and change the exposition, or am I messing up my pictures (and making a fool of myself spending so much time in doing it)? I feel the pictures lose depth when I use the default brightness, but I am no pro and it doesn't sound plausible to me that my changes should be necessary, otherwise the default would be just that, right?
    Plus, I get a feeling that my color balance in the new camera is wrong, there's too much fuchsia. But I have to chech if this is a setup, it could well be.
    I don't know if this is important information for the answer, but I use P to shoot my pictures and have so far not done anything out of the ordinary with my camera (that is, all automatic so far, and trying to practice how to best adjust the photometer (mostly servo).