Thread: New to everything.

Real Name
    Kelly

New to everything.

Hi, My name is Kelly. I live in Derby with my husband Stu and our 2 boys Ben and Charlie. I am very new to photography. Only really used a simple point and click camera. But I've always wanted to pursue a career/hobby in photography. I recently went to a friends wedding and after seeing her photos I was simply blown away. It's re-lit a spark in me to want to find out more about cameras and taking that "perfect" photo.
    Although weddings is not where I'm keen to go... It's photographing children and babies, for me it's all about capturing that special moment, that cheeky smile, that sleeping moment caught forever.
    So if anyone has any advise on cameras, technique, hints and tips, please feel free to get in touch.

Real Name
    Dave

Re: New to everything.

Hi Kelly.

I suggested some pointers in reply to your previous, identical "meet the members" post. However, I'll say again that this is not the best place in CiC to get advice, and you are likely to get better advice if you are more specific. For example, "photographing children" could be anything from studio portraits to toddlers running round the garden, and they will put very different demands on your skills, technique and Equipment.

Dave

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Kelly,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me too.

If you're interested in the Baby end of the 'children' scale, you could read these in order, as I learn as I go along photographing my first grand-daughter, relating the issues encountered in the first and subsequent posts in each thread.

Baby pics 1, Baby pics 2, Baby pics 3, Baby pics 4

Keep an eye out for Baby pics 5 (shot last week), which may appear soon, followed by 6 (shooting later this week).

There are also a few other members now posting similar in their own threads.

Good luck, Dave

Real Name
    Simon