Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Rainbow

Real Name
    Tommy

Rainbow

Hi guys, this is my first submission and is of a rainbow that I saw out of my window just after last night's storm.

I am new to photography so would appreciate as much constructive criticism as you are willing to give.

I am particularly keen to know how the brightness of the pic looks on your monitor. It looks completely different on my desktop to my laptop. I think I need to look into callibrating my monitor.

Anyways, here goes...

Rainbow

Cheers

Real Name
    Wendy

Re: Rainbow

Hi Tommy, excellent shot. I have monitor calibration issues too, so take that into consideration when reading my comments. On my monitor the buildings look perfect but the sky could be a bit darker. I don't know what you use for editing, but perhaps a graduated filter would help to darken the sky and bring out the rainbow a bit

I wish I could see something like that out my window. Nice one!

Wendy

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Tommy

I agree with Wendy's comments.

The buildings are fine. A Neutral Density Graduated (NDG) filter or a bracketed set of exposures that you then blended with whatever post processing software you use, would have allowed you to get more out the sky and the rainbow. It is a bit bright, but certainly not to the extent that you've lost all the detail. But getting into filters and/or bracketed exposures may be a next step perhaps on your learning curve.

Notwithstanding the fortunate fact that there's a rainbow in it and, presumably, this is why you took it, I think it's a nice composition in general terms. You've positioned the roof line nicely in the image in a way that gives a clear impression of 'traditional' urban environment and of loooking out over the rooftops.

Not so sure about that treatment you've given at the edge leading into the border. Too fancy for my taste.