Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Camera Usage

Real Name
    Rajiv

Camera Usage

Hello,
    This is another Q about camera usage.

I am new to photography in the sense that I was shooting with point and shoot (G7) and now wanted to learn more about taking picture. I bought a canon T2i/550D and have been experimenting with it. Here are some of my concerns I have, on which I need advise on.

01. When I turn off the camera and clip on the lens cap, should I press it in, thus making the lens rotate to "24 mm" from "18mm" or should I NOT press the cap in so hard?

02. When I keep the camera in the camera bag, what is the best position to keep it in? bottom down, lens facing inside or on its side, where I can pull it out easily or on its LCD face down.

03. How much is over using the camera? I am learning by reading books, so I click about 50 to 75 pictures a day of which maybe 5 to 10 looks good enough to keep. The rest I delete.

04. For starters, can I trust picasa with its auto-colour adjust? I am partially colour blind and cannot trust my judgement. Or should I use a more advanced editor like GIMP?

05. While shooting at night or morning, does it matter if I use ISO100 and adjust the Aperture and Shutter speed/time to compensate?

I am including couple of the shots I took this morning, along with the picasa's auto-colour adjust. The one which has the file name extension -ac is the picasa's edit.

I am sure I will have more questions as I learn more.
    Thanks in advance for your time and advise.

-Rajiv
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    omid

Re: Camera Usage

hi rajiv
    1st. dont touch the lens glass with the cap
    2nd. i dont think it make any difference but it should be tight in position i personally prefer bottom down(lcd!)
    3rd.100,000 shots is ok so dont worry! after all your camera will cheap out after months let alone years make the most out of your money!
    4th.i dont know if youre colour blind?