Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hummingbird images for C&C please...

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Hummingbird images for C&C please...

After setting up my feeder for quite a while now, I decided to watch it each day for some hummers. I studied them for a good while before I finally decided to take some shots. The first batch with the 70-300mm were baaaaddd....because I didn't realized how fast these are...and with the bees in the feeder, I have to fix them first. Yesterday I put a dash of Vicks Vaporub on the feeder. I read that they do not affect the hummers. The bees went away for the time being so I decided to do my shoot this morning. Unfortunately, the smell might have dissipated during the night...

Second try was my 150-500mm. I took one or two shots of the feeder, adjust my settings and all those things that needed to be done when doing a planned shoot. These are all of my 9 shots. I have chosen 7 for uploads...

2 Hummingbird images for C&C please...

3 Hummingbird images for C&C please...

4 Hummingbird images for C&C please...

5 Hummingbird images for C&C please...

7 And so this one bids us "FAREWELL...SO LONG..."

And I am too for now...will be back in the morning...thank you all for looking and commenting and giving me feedback if any. I know these are not really as good as I want them to as I was about 10 feet away when I can go closer still...Will do some better ones this week...

Real Name
    Binnur

Re: Hummingbird images for C&C please...

Hi Isabel You have something like noise on all images but I don't think it is possible to get so much noise with ISO 800. It has effected all your images negatively though. Is it possible that it is related to your PP work ?

Well , bird shooters might know better about the matter

Real Name
    Bruce

Izzie, I enjoyed the photos. It seems the humming birds are not particularly bothered by the bees! Was your camera (and you?) located hidden behind any shrubbery, etc.