Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: I can no longer open an image from Adobe Bridge to Photoshop

Real Name
    Richard

I can no longer open an image from Adobe Bridge to Photoshop

Although I can open Adobe Bridge CS3 and can open Photoshop CS3 independently but, I can no longer open an image into Photoshop which I have previously opened in Bridge. I used to be able to double click the Bridge image and it would open as a Photoshop image. That no longer happens.

Any magic ideas to help me? I could probably solve the problem by removing the entire CS3 creative Suite from my harddrive and then re-installing it. However, that is a big PITA. I am hoping for a more simple fix.

I am a lot better photographer than computer operator...

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: I can no longer open an image from Adobe Bridge to Photoshop

Hi Richard,

I think this has probably far more to do with your computer's operating system than the Adobe software. That said, re-installing probably would fix it, but is far more than I suspect you need do.

Please advise what computer (e.g. PC or Mac) you are using and more importantly, the operating system; e.g. Vista, XP, OSX 10.4, etc.

Unless Vista, I probably won't be able to help, but others will with that information.

Oh, and we also need to know what file extension/picture type you are having problems with; e.g. .tif, .jpg, etc.

I suspect something else, another bit of software, has re-assigned itself to be the default (double click) programme that opens.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Try this ...

Open Bridge

Ctrl + K

Go to File Type Associations

... double-check the appropriate entries

Hope this helps !

1. Can you load Photoshop (not Bridge) and open a file direct using the open command from the menu?

2. Have you tried rebooting your machine? That often fixes many minor problems.

Real Name
    Richard