Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: newbie question about vibrant color in photography

newbie question about vibrant color in photography

Hi I'm new to photography and have been messing around with my camera for some time now. Most photographs I see on this site & others display vibrant colors in their photos. Like the color in this photo:dog picture
    compared to this photo: guy walking picture.

I assume the "dog pic" has some post production work to enhance the vibrant colors but i'm not sure if this is common practice in photography. So my question, is it common in photography to do color enhancements in software such as photoshop? Or are vibrant color's dependent on the lens that is used and other camera settings. I would imagine the lens help reduce post production but in some cases, post production is needed to brighten the image quality and color. Just not sure if my assumptions are correct. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    -Nu
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Rick

Re: newbie question about color in photography.

Hi, Nu, welcome to CiC!

I think most people do at least some "basic" post-production (and often more), but I'm not sure I'd consider it adjusting colors. For an image that looks just about perfect to me coming from the camera, I'll always apply capture sharpening, and I'll always create a curves layer and see if adjusting contrast makes a difference.

If you look in the tutorials section, you'll see about sharpening and using "curves." I think what you're seeing as brilliant colors is probably contrast as much as anything. I took the "guy walking" image, and processed it only in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR). I set +30 fill light to bring up the shadows and +50 contrast, and came up with this:

newbie question about vibrant color in photography

I don't know if this is what you're looking for when you want more vibrant colors.

Cheers,
    Rick

Real Name
    David