Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Night time shots - I'm a beginner!!!

Real Name
    Kevin

Night time shots - I'm a beginner!!!

Hi, I bought my camera two weeks ago (Lumix G1), because I really want to learn how to take good photographs. This camera does have point and shoot, but I intend to learn how to use it 'properly'. I've read loads of stuff on the internet about focal length, DOF, AWB, etc etc, and all of this information is now swimming around in my head, looking for somewhere to settle.
    Anyway, last night was dark with a fairly clear sky, and a bright, although small, moon. There are fields in front of my house with other houses and trees in the middle distance. I though I'd have a go at taking some night photos. I had to aim at the houses in the distance as the camera wouldn't lock focus any higher (focus priority, I guess), and when I took the shot with the automatic settings, I got a shutter speed of around 8 seconds. I ended up with a bit of camera shake, but the wierd thing was that the photograph looked like I had taken a picture of a desert during the day. everything was orange. I'm guessing that this is the street-lights, so I turned the colour down towards the 'blue'. This resulted in a much better picture, but it looked more like a black and white photograph, rather than a colour one, but taken at night, if you get my meaning.
    I think I'm jumping in at the deep end here, as I've read that night photography is one of the hardest
    aspects, but I might as well start somewhere. What would be good settings to try in such conditions to get a reasonable photo that actually looks like it was taken at night, and not in a desert?!!
    Last edited by aardvark; 25th May 2010 at 01:00 PM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Night time shots - I'm a beginner!!!

Hi Kevin,

I think we'll need to see your example here, there are many ways to do this, but using TinyPic is probably the easiest, here's how.