Thread: Macbook pro retina or lenovo Z5070

Real Name
    Claudio

Macbook pro retina or lenovo Z5070

Hi all..i am first time buyer of laptop for image processing. I have never used mac before but my friend swears by it.

I have to laptops here and would like your opinion. The macbook pro retina is almsot dbl the price here in South Africa. I am lookin gfor somethinmg that will at least last me a few years and am lookin gfor a little more quality. Although the macbook pro is probaly an entry lvl of the apple laptops is it worth it?

Your help is greatly appreciated

LENOVO - Z5070 i7 CORE BLACK LAPTOP

Intel core i7-4510U
    8GB Memory
    1TB HDD + 8G SSH
    GPU 4GB Nvidia Geforce GT820M
    15.6'' HD FLAT
    WIN 8.1 EM
    1 year warranty
    Non-Back Lit Keyboard BlueTooth
    DOLBY Advanced Audio 1*USB3.0

Apple: MacBook Pro 13" Retina 128SSD

2.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor (Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz) with 3MB shared L3 cache
    8GB of 1600MHz DDR3L onboard memory
    128GB PCIe-based flash storage

Real Name
    Robin

Re: Macbook pro retina or lenovo Z5070

Those aren't the only important specs - what sort of screen is on the LENOVO, I can't find any real info on the net. How is its colour accuracy, how is its viewing angles etc.

The MBP has one of the best laptop screens around and while its not perfect for editing (its designed to be ultra slim not ultra accurate) it is 'good enough' for most users.

Real Name
    Erik

I have a 2014 MBP 13" Retina that I use for photo editing. Overall, I have been very happy using the MBP, as Robin has indicated it is not perfect and if I wanted to have a Computer that was only for Photo Editing I certainly could make one, but then it would lack in other areas. Given that I use my MBP for many other things (home, work, etc) it works very well for me. I calibrate the screen monthly and have been quite happy with the results