Thread: Advice Requested On Photographing Hares

Real Name
    Erainn

Advice Requested On Photographing Hares

Wondered if anyone with experience of photographing Hares could please offer any tips or ideas on how best to take a photograph of those wonderful creatures. I am a hobbyist photographer with a Canon EOS 450d and 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM lens. Any suggestions on equipment, favorable conditions or best time of the day to photograph Hares in the UK would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Advice Requested On Photographing Hares

Erainn,

I suspect that photographing hares would be much like photographing rabbits here in the USA.

In that, I might suggest that (unless the animals are very used to humans) that a longer lens would be quite helpful. The Canon 55-250mm IS lens is a relatively inexpensive lens with quite decent performance. A 70-300mm Canon, Sigma or Canon lens would also be a decent choice. Despite its low price, I would not recommend the older 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS Canon lens due to relatively poor performance in comparison to the above mentioned lenses...

Like many animals, our rabbits are more active during the early morning and evening hours. Although I am opposed to using bait in hunting, I would not have any problems with a photographer using bait to attract animals.

Our rabbits are prevalent in many suburban and semi rural areas and are pests since they eat the lawn. I have a bank in my yard on which I planted rosemary. Rabbits had taken it over and there were several bunny families living in the rosemary.
    They had developed rabbit runs through the vegetation. My big Goldendoodle was too large to chase them into these runs and my Maltese rescue dogs cared less about chasing rabbits. Enter SASHA THE TERRIER