Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Color Printing for Dummies (me) - question

Color Printing for Dummies (me) - question

Hi,
    I am looking for help on printing a poster (using a printing service) to an Epson/Fujifilm inkjet plotter. I have a SonyDSCP200 camera and Photoshop cs2. I'm only an occassional photographer and photoshop user.

I want the printed poster to look realistic...meaning as it looked to the naked eye when the photo was taken. The photo was taken outdoors - showing a closeup of a house window. I don't want to spend money on printing unless I know what the output will be.

Is there a tutorial for this that would list the steps I need to follow (briefly) and any profile/calibration/etc I need to do? I'm sure the individual steps can get complicated for professional/experts... I'm just looking to get a handle on the process and get started.

thanks

Real Name
    Ian

Re: Color Printing for Dummies (me) - question

Hi and welcome to the forums...

Just a couple of thoughts more than anything else... do you know what the file size of the picture you wish to print is? Obviously the larger you go with the print, the more detail you need in the file size to kick off.

Secondly, I would strongly suggest that you do get your monitor calibrated or see the picture on a calibrated monitor firstly otherwise you might be heavily disappointed with the resulting print.

You don't need to buy calibrating equipment if you are an occasional user, I know of a local guy who will come and do the work for a small charge plus expenses. Much cheaper than some of the esoteric prices these wonderful bits of kit sell for.

Maybe try a local camera club who may have one too?

Thanks for the reply and the idea to use a calibration service.

I understand size/dpi issues... but have never setup/used color profiles.
    So... if I get my monitor calibrated I will be provided a 'profile' file?