Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: That horrid CA

Real Name
    Steve

That horrid CA

This is a difficult job, a non HDR with lens wide open to minimise CA but look, still get a lot. Is there an application designed to remove it without loss of colour?

Out of ACR without sharpening or noise reduction.
    That horrid CA

Two hours later I called it a day.
    That horrid CA

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: That horrid CA

Quote Originally Posted by arith View Post
    This is a difficult job, a non HDR with lens wide open to minimise CA but look, still get a lot.

Is there an application designed to remove CA without loss of colour?
    Hi Arith,

I am fortunate that since moving to Nikon, I've never had it bad enough to fret over unduly. Therefore, I am no expert.
    Any I do get, I carefully remove with a desaturation brush.

OK 3 possibilities I know of;
    1) Not much help
    I believe the (full) version of ACR that comes with Lightroom does have a CA correction tool.

2) Still not much help to you (but may help others)
    I believe the Nikon ViewNX can fix it, perhaps Canon's DPP can?

3) Might be some help
    I think DXOMark can import RAW and deal with CA, but I'm not sure if that costs money or not. I have never tried it.

Unfortunately, (and I did just double check), the Filter > Correct Camera Distortions dialog in Elements does everything except CA

Hopefully someone else will respond and be more help soon,

Real Name
    Jim

DPP has CA correction.I've not used it,but should do a decent job.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    I believe the (full) version of ACR that comes with Lightroom does have a CA correction tool.
    It's also in the "full version" that comes with Photoshop (or in other words, it's just not in the Photoshop Elements version).

Seems to work OK.

Other way around it is just to "do it the hard way" in Photoshop.

Real Name