Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Safe to Order Lenses/Cameras online?

Safe to Order Lenses/Cameras online?

I was wondering if its safe to order a lens or expensive SLR online as suppose to going to the store and getting it? I am planning on ordering around $12.000 worth of gear, a very long time ago I worked as a truck loader and I saw how boxes are treated. I was just wondering if it makes a difference, I mean I ordered everything online before but this is the first time ordering lenses and a SLR online...I was wondering if shacking and box throwing would affect the lens construction...but all the lenses I am getting are over 2000 bucks ......

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Safe to Order Lenses/Cameras online?

Not a problem I'm ever likely to have

My main concern would be whether you ought to be trying out the ergonomics of the camera and lenses in a shop first.
    Camera ergonomics aside; if you can afford the best and are going for say Canon L glass, then that's what you want - there is no alternative, so the decision is made.

I think it unlikely they would be damaged in transit, but it is a possibility and one should carefully check on arrival and in first use that all is well. Disclaim any inspection upon receipt 9to soon to say) unless the box is obviously damaged, in which case; refuse delivery.

Good luck,

Real Name
    Steve

They get thrown about in shops as well. It is a good idea to only use insured post with guaranteed next day delivery then check the packaging hasn't been damaged ect ect.

Real Name
    Pops

My worst case was the 400mm Soligor. This is a BIG lens, about the same size as my 60" tripod, when collapsed. The box was pretty badly battered when it arrived, but the driver had me open it. The lens itself had been packed in one box and that box in another. Each box had padding, bubble wrap and Styrofoam pellets. The lens was fine.