Thread: Choosing DSLR for New User

Choosing DSLR for New User

Hi,

I want to buy a DSLR. I am a beginner for DSLR.
    Please recommend a DSLR camera. Which brand should I go for? Nikon or Canon?
    Please specify Models. My budget is around 50,000/-(INR) it is equivalent to $1,000 (US).

Regards,
    Saikat
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 20th March 2010 at 08:23 PM.

Re: Choosing DSLR for New User

Quote Originally Posted by Saikat Bala View Post
    Hi,

I want to buy a DSLR. I am a beginner for DSLR.
    Please recommend a DSLR camera. Which brand should I go for? Nikon or Canon?
    Please specify Models. My budge is around 50,000/-(INR) it is equivalent to $1,000 (US).

Regards,
    Saikat
    1. What will you mostly be shooting?
    2. Are you willing to buy second-hand?
    3. What lens range do you want (depends on question 1)

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

Rob,

When I was in the same position,(buy my first DSLR) it was really very difficult to say "What I would be shooting the most?" (well, as a matter of fact, it still is.) It takes sometime to make out what kinda photography one wants to get confined to. There is a time I find a little toy at my place as an interesting subject and the other moment a bird flying high is a subject of interest. I love taking night shots too.
    Now having bought the DSLR, I feel its the thorough knowledge about the DSLR's functionality and the lenses and their types one can answer the question himself. I am happy with the camera I bought but just wish I had more focal length to it. Secondly, second hand cameras are not easily available in India. They would be availabe, but one would not have a choice or variety.

I mostly want to shoot landscape and nature.
    I do prefer firsthand DSLR.
    At present I need a zoom lens.

Now pls narrow my choice.

Thanks.
    Saikat

Real Name
    Sahil Jain