Thread: Telelphoto + Wide-angle lens vs. Telephoto lens question

Telelphoto + Wide-angle lens vs. Telephoto lens question

Hello,

I am new to photography, having just invested in a Rebel XSi recently.

I currently have only the kit lens and the 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. I am trying to decide on the next lens to buy, especially for my upcoming trip to Costa Rica where I intend to capture mostly wildlife but also anticipate great wide angle shots of beaches/sunsets.

My question is: should I get an 18-250mm so I can leave the kit lens at home and have the ability to shoot mostly with that lens OR is it better to get the 55-250mm lens and carry the kit lens with me for normal shooting?

I appreciate any feedback/advice!

Thanks,
    Tharsan

Re: Telelphoto + Wide-angle lens vs. Telephoto lens question

I am not that familiar with Canon lenses, but I presume that your kit lens is an 18-55 mm lens. Generally, the image quality of zoom lenses with large focal length ranges is not as good as for lenses with smaller ranges. On the other hand, an 18-250 mm lens avoids the need for lens changes which in the Costa Rica jungle is a definite plus.

I have travelled several times to South America and have tried both the one-lens and the two-lens solution. For me the two-lens approach works better.

I think we really need some more details before anybody can give any firm recommendations here.

What is your budget? Which brand of lenses are you currently considering (ie Canon, Sigma, Tamron, etc.)? Exactly what do you want to want to photograph?

Wildlife can mean tiny bugs, flying birds or large mammals. How close do you expect to get to your subject? What sort of landscapes, sweeping panoramas or tighter shots of more specific locations?

As a general rule, I find that lenses with too large a size range can have quality problems somewhere along the range, unless you are prepared to spend a considerable amount of money.