Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: RAW software and dng question

RAW software and dng question

I am new to digital photography so only have about 1 weeks experience of shooting in raw format. I think I will use it exclusively as it's not much bigger than jpeg and is future proof. Also I like the benefit of 16bit lossless formats over 8bit lossy hence have worked in .tga over .jpg for years as better for editing etc (and support bump from true alpha channel as opposed to inverted blue channel). I don't really know very much about camera raw being so new and what processing software is best. I have CS3, gimp (various linux raw plugins) and finepix (came with camera so it's old).

I have done a little looking around and many people say .raf is not processed properly by ps. Many say use fuji hyperutilities V2 or S2 as this produces best results. I don't own it and don't really want to buy it if there is a cheaper/free alternative or if it isn't the best to use. Does anyone know of a good program to use to process .raf. I convert images to 8 bit jpeg or .png after processing for posting on web but some into into targa for other stuff.

I also keep my RAW on backup HDD so have copy of digital equivalent of my 35mm negatives. Although I have plenty of space I notice .DNG compressed (lossless) are half the size of .raf. This could be useful in future when collection becomes bigger, is .dng equal to other camera raw or uncompressed/compressed lossless like .tif or is there a benefit to not converting the .raf into .dng.

Any feedback or advice is appreciated since I am clueless to all this as it new to me. Thanks Dave.

Real Name
    Ian

Re: RAW software and dng question

I believe that a lot of programs don't open the Fuji .raf file format, in the way that say .raw files receive support.