Thread: First Attempt at PP

First Attempt at PP

Not sure if this is where this post should go, its nature related, but its my first attempt at trying to 'spruce' up my photo like you guys do. CC welcome please.

framedbird.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 27th February 2010 at 09:11 AM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: First Attempt at PP

Hi Warren,

Gooks good I'd be tempted to add a bit of fill light to see if revealing a bit more shadow detail around the bird's eye improved the shot or not though.

Hope this helps

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by Warren View Post
    Not sure if this is where this post should go, its nature related, but its my first attempt at trying to 'spruce' up my photo like you guys do. CC welcome please.
    Hi Warren,

Well the subject is OK in this forum, although we may 'descend' into a PP discussion
    We can always move it if someone objects.

What PP software are you using?
    I ask because there's no point us giving advice for brand "X" if you have brand "Y", it'll only confuse things

I like the composition, although some may advise a tighter crop.

Cheers,

Real Name

Hi Warren,

I just discovered you have the same pic in another thread* in Nature and Architecture, so I moved this one here for the PP discussion to blossom.

* That "did my head in" because I thought my reply above had disappeared

Cheers,

I am using PhotoShop8. Just started using it, so I am not all that familar with it.

Dave, I have no problem with you moving the pic. I was not sure where to start this topic.

Real Name
    Steve

Well it looks alright to me; if you can raise shadows a bit around the eyes might be even better. I use several applications on the same pic saving to tif at each stage because each does some things better, I hope quality doesn't suffer but sometimes if I have to work on an 8 bit and then it does.