Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Getting Jewelry to Sparkle in Photos?

Getting Jewelry to Sparkle in Photos?

Hello all. I just joined this forum, and I have to say the tutorial on the main page has to be one of the best I've ever seen. Information in such a straightforward, well-written form that even a newbie like me can learn something fast!

That said, I've had a particular question. I shoot a lot of jewelry (mostly costume jewelry, rhinestones, etc) for work. I don't have a very extravagant setup, since I'm an amateur - I use a Samsung S1050 camera, I have a light table, some white paper to shoot on as well, some typical jewelry posing props, etc. What I'm really wondering is if anyone has tips on making jewelry sparkle?

I ask because what I shoot tends to be rhinestones that have a great shimmer and glimmer to them in normal lighting, but my normal pictures tend to be somewhat.. flat, perhaps is the word? I've gotten a bit more sparkle on them by using the flash of my camera on shots, but if anyone else is experienced with such photos, I could use tips.

Thank you!

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Getting Jewelry to Sparkle?

Hi Gamble,

Welcome to CiC - great to have you with us

In essence, the problem lies with your lighting; your existing setup is probably producing soft light which is great for producing soft shadows ... unfortunately, the "sparkles" your after are direct and specular reflections, which are produced from hard light.

Soft lighting comes from having a large light source thats close to the subject; a hard lighting is the opposite - a small light source that's further away (a flash is certainly heading in the right direction).