Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: night photography with street lighting too bright

night photography with street lighting too bright

i'm a self taught photographer and really enjoy my night photography and having trouble with when I photograph street lighting the lights come out too bright like big stars. I have played with F# and ISO and played with partial metering and evaluative metering. is there something very specific I need to use in my settings that will allow those lights to come out not as bright like a big star? I shoot mostly in AV mode...the attached shot is F20, ISO 100, 20 sec exposure. if I lower the F# to 18 and lower and up the ISO it only makes it worse.
    Last edited by moxiemazzy; 23rd December 2013 at 06:41 PM.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: night photography with street lighting too bright

Posting an example photo and the settings you used would help folks provide some feedback. In general, if you are shooting in any auto exposure mode at night, what you describe will happen with points of light. The camera's meter is seeing a scene that is dark overall and is compensating for the darkness. Therefore the lights get blown out.

Post an example as recommended if you want more feedback.

Real Name
    Robin

Don't stop down so much and they won't star as much.

attached image F20, ISO 100, 20 sec exposure and partial metering mode. all in AV mode.

Real Name
    Phil Page

Can't see the attached image, but don't stop down so much. Also to minimise blown highlights try bracketing and blending using Exposure Fusion

Usually the only way I get acceptable results is through editing to vary the brightness levels.

One of my more successful options is to shoot Raw then make two or more conversions with different exposure settings and combine them with layers and masks.

This allows for shooting to suit the brightest lights and recovering detail in the darker areas.