Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Vivitar Zoom Thyristor 285 Flash

Vivitar Zoom Thyristor 285 Flash

I received this as a gift from a coworker of mine and it does work on my D3000. However, I just want to know if anyone can tell me if this particular model is well suited for modern DSLR.

I'm not good with these voltage regulations on flashes and this is pretty much my first flash ever. I know many earlier flashes does not contain some form of dedicated circuitry, and some are manufactured with high voltage trigger circuits, is this model one of them?

Note: I dont have any volt meter--let alone know how to use one--to be able to measure the sync voltage with my D3000.

Here's a picture
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/images/prod/28522.jpg

Min

Thank you in advance for those who took their time to answer my questions!

Re: Vivitar Zoom Thyristor 285 Flash

I contacted Nikon and this was my reply:

Nikon cameras can handle up to 250 volts through the hot shoe or sync terminal so I think your Vivitar should be fine.

I hope this helps with anyone who as this particular model and was wondering!

Min

Real Name
    Steve

250 volts seems a lot; my flash is 6 volts. Anyway I found out while looking at wireless triggers that anything above 12v may be dangerous. All this electronics stuff is a bit of a mystery to me though.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

The flash tube itself requires several thousand volts to flash (when triggered), but it is quite a low current and only for a very brief period - it has nothing to do with the battery voltage, although that is where it is generated from. This isn't what comes out the bottom of the flash though.

Never-the-less, the older style flashes such as this can have a hundred or two volts on the contacts, so care is needed when handling an X-sync lead or you can give yourself a jolt. The hot shoe is designed so you can't touch 'both sides' (of the circuit), but it is just possible with a lead.