Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First attempt with night photo

Real Name
    Duc

First attempt with night photo

This is my first attempt with night photo. Composition, i think, is still a big problem for me.
    Criticisms of all sorts are welcome.

This shot was taken from an overpass in Singapore.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: First attempt with night photo

Duc

Good to see you getting in early (after joining) and posting images. I hope you, very quickly, feel a part of this forum.

I always like to see this sort of image as it gives me a sense of a place I have not visited. To that extent, it has a documentary feel to it.

You make the comment that you think you still need to work on your skills in composition. This image suggests that you have started on that journey and do have a sense of what you want to achieve. One of the challenges of this image, I believe, is that there are too many elements trying to compete.

The highway with the light trails is a major feature. But there is vegatation cutting across it and trying to compete for attention. Even a tree branch cuts into the light trails half-way up the image on the left. So, I think what is required is that you decide what your primary subject is and make sure other things to not cut across it.

I wonder what shot would have been available if you had walked across the the overpass so that the highway would have run from bottom left to top right in your image? Would you have managed to get the highway without interference from plants in front? The trees along the left-hand side, as we look at it, would then have formed the backdrop to the image. And as they would have been illuminated by the street lighting, it might have made for an interesting shot.

This is a wonderful forum in which to learn. Please keep on posting. And I hope you'll come in to make comments about images that I post.