Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What gear, and why?

Real Name
    Lex

What gear, and why?

Any photography forum contains a lot of threads with new photographers asking what they should buy. But I think it'd be equally helpful for some more established shooters to post what gear they've selected, and why. Obviously, an exhaustive list would force some people to write for hours, so overviews and highlights are probably best.

I'll start, organizing as well as I can, and explaining why I got each bit of gear. Bear in mind that I am by no means a career pro, I haven't done this perfectly, and that this list is evolving.

Canon EOS
    • 60D: Main camera. My Digital Rebel (below) didn't have the ISO performance and burst speed I needed for shooting roller derby. This fit my budget, and the next camera up, the 7D, didn't seem different enough to justify costing twice as much. Good buy.
    • BG-E9 battery grip: Added lots of battery life, redundancy, and improved ergonomics to my 60D. Highly recommended if you shoot for several hours straight. Also lets you run the camera on AAs in a pinch.
    • Digital Rebel: My first digital camera, inherited from my dad. Got me started, but I only stuck with it for 10 months or so. Still have it because the resale value is basically nil.
    • EF 100mm f2.0 USM: For portraits and roller derby. I got this after learning that the 55-250mm f3.5-5.6 wasn't anywhere near a wide enough aperture for low-light action. Still my favorite lens.
    • EF 20mm f2.8 USM: My first wide-angle. Wanted a rectilinear without crazy distortion for interior stuff and street shooting. Very nice field of view on my 60D. Probably my most-used lens.
    • EF 50mm f1.4 USM: Mainly a roller derby/indoor action lens. Good focal length, nice wide aperture. Not my favorite focal length, but a good buy.