Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera and lens purchase help

Camera and lens purchase help

I'm new to Cambridge and I'm seeking feedback/advise on purchasing a Nikon SLR. After a long break I'm back into photography and my goal is to start showing my work again in art galleries. Mostly I prefer b/w street photojournalism. I have a budget of around $3000 to start. Suggestions as to body/lens would be greatly appreciated.
    Sam E
    Last edited by Sam E; 14th September 2013 at 05:01 PM. Reason: question

Real Name
    wm c boyer

Re: Camera and lens purchase help

I'll give you my standard answer for these types of questions:
    Regarding brand name, Nikon/Canon/whatever...it is rare to change brands after amassing an assortment of lenses for a specific brand, choose with that knowledge.
    There is not a significant difference in performance among different brands, given equal prices.

With that in mind>visit your local camera store/BestBuy/wherever and physically handle the different brands. Which ones, in your mind, are more ergonomically suited for you...it's a subjective answer.

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Sam,
    A D600 with kit lens will be worth a serious look.

Real Name
    Kathy

Quote Originally Posted by Sam E View Post
    ... Mostly I prefer b/w street photojournalism. I have a budget of around $3000 to start. Suggestions as to body/lens would be greatly appreciated.
    How important is being inconspicuous to you while street shooting? dSLRs are big and conspicuous, and with faster zooms on them, they can be intimidating to subjects. Discreet shooting while possible, is harder with one.