Thread: Portrait Help Needed

Real Name
    Mark

Portrait Help Needed

Recently had a go at getting back into photography, I started out last year as a total beginner and did a beginner's course at college. Was all going well along with some much appreciated and valuable advice from the site users here. Then circumstances beyond my control turned my life upside down and the whole thing died a death. Still a total beginner for all intents and purposes and would appreciate any C&C's on my latest foray into portraiture.[IMG]Portrait Help Needed[/IMG]

Real Name
    Bruce

Re: Portrait Help Needed

Was this photo lit with one light source to camera left?
    Also, the eyes of your subject do not look right IMHO.

Bruce

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Hi Mark,

Not to shabby, you should feel proud of yourself. The skin tone is important but then again if somebody spends a lot of time in the sun or had a few drinks the skin tone is a bit red.

A good portrait with good lighting. Well done, keep doing it.

Real Name
    Victor Nimitz

Hi Mark,

Overall , a good portrait.

The lighting is spot on. Lighting guides say this is short-lite. The side of the face on the opposite side of the cam gets the main light. Supposed to give drama, especially for men, by emphasizing the creases , wrinkles of the skin. The background is ok.

Just a couple of observations. Perhaps, you can position the hands farther away from the camera to avoid it looking larger than the subjects face. Maybe , under his chin, facing sidewards towards the cam. Or don't include it. Then, have him face a little towards the cam. Just enough to show some skin outline on the right side of his face. Get his nose in. i.e. not jutting out beyond his right cheek. Probably lessening the eye-whites too.

Well, perhaps we can wait for more comments from the gurus.

Hope this helps.

Real Name
    Peter Phun

Hi Mark,
    May I ask what focal length lens you used for this?