Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: my first post and first atempt at hdr

Real Name
    Rod

my first post and first atempt at hdr

Not sure how to post the picture in the post but the link works at least. It's my first attempt at HDR and was taken sometime ago.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3409/...0e10454d_b.jpg
    my first post and first atempt at hdr
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 2nd January 2010 at 01:25 AM.

Real Name
    Steve

Re: my first post and first atempt at hdr

Looks good to me; to post just Browse for the image using the tool found below the text box and hit Host it. Copy the top option in ImageShack then click on Insert Image which looks like a telly above the text box. Paste and then post.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

I've inserted the image inline for you

How many shots were in your HDR sequence?

Real Name
    Rod

cheers for that Colin, i took 3 shots for this pic.

Real Name
    David

Hi mrrod - I looked at this image yesterday and have spent some tme thinking about it. You don't say what software you used and I guess it was Photomatix Pro or similar. I would make four points. First, overall, the image looks good to my eye with a typical "HDR" feel to it: lots of grain and local contrast. Such images are not to everyone's taste, but so what.

Second, there is a typical halo effect around the bicycle. Sometimes this is good, but other times it detracts from the image. The commercial software can usually be tweaked to remove such artefacts if you wish.

Third, as oft stated by Colin and others (possibly including myself), what you have actually produced is a tone-mapped low dynamic range image.