Thread: Pls give some suggestion about B&W

Real Name
    Zien

Pls give some suggestion about B&W

Hi all,
    I am a beginner in photography. I shot some b&w picture recently. There're some pictures i taken.
    All these pictures were cropped (because I was using a short lens, 18-55mm) and RAW was processed by using Capture one. I feel it not attracted to eyes, but I don't know where the problem is. Is the subject composition, the focus, image tones or lighting... Pls do help to give some advice and any comment is welcomed.
    Equipment: Fujifilm X-E1, 55mm, ISO 200 f/8, 1/400

Equipment: Fujifilm X-E1, 55mm, ISO 320 f/8, 1/30

Equipment: Fujifilm X-E1, 55mm, ISO 250 f/8, 1/30

Equipment: Fujifilm X-E1, 55mm, ISO 250 f/8, 1/30

Real Name
    Graham Serretta

Re: Pls give some suggestion about B&W

Zen, all of these images appear to me to lack high-light detail and to have high contrast with limited tonal range. I think that the problem is the B&W conversion technique that you are using in CaptureOne. I don't use CaptureOne personally and would suggest that you use either Photoshop Elements or Lightroom to do the B&W conversion, both of which will do better justice to the Fuji X-E1 RAW files.

Real Name
    Miltos

Hello Zien.

You need to ask youself why you want to convert these images to B&W. Is there a really purpose or you just want them to look vintage?

In a simple approach we usually convert when an image is about textures, tonalities, when color obstructs from the main theme or if we want a vintage look. In any case not all image ask for B&W while some people prefer images close to our world, thus in color (not me).

Real Name
    Zien

thanks Graham, I will try Photoshop and Lightroom.

Real Name
    Zien

Quote Originally Posted by MilT0s View Post
    Hello Zien.

You need to ask youself why you want to convert these images to B&W. Is there a really purpose or you just want them to look vintage?