Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Bicycle tour questions

Real Name
    Monte Comeau

Bicycle tour questions

I am going to shoot a charity event this weekend for the MS Society as a volunteer, the photographer they booked had a paying gig and had to drop out at the last minute. I have no experience with cycling event shooting.

I shoot birds, Use a 200-400 Nikon mounted on the D4. The only other lens I have will be the 14-24 mounted on the D300s. Or maybe I will switch that around to take advantage of the FX and DX with those two lenses.

I think I can handle this as far as the fast moving shots with the 200-400 but will be missing a critical focal length under 200mm. Will probably keep the 200-400 on the D4 just for that reason.

Has anyone ever done any panning with the 14-24 with success? My plan is to get the long shots as they approach then wide angle close ups as they pass and hopefully do some panning as they go by.

Would love to have my old 70-200VR right now but no longer have it.

Anyone shoot a lot of cycling have any advice for what I have to work with?

It is a 200km run with 80 riders. I am expected to get shots of them all. I will be leapfrogging ahead of them along the route.

I typically use spot focus and metering for birds, what settings would be best for cycling? Maybe 21 focus points? Metering? Matrix?

Thanks in advance.

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Bicycle tour questions

I have always liked the compression long focal length lenses provide for groups of riders. This is especially true if you can get an slightly elevated shot of the pack waiting to start the race...

I would definitely practice using the Nikon auto-focus modes designed for moving subjects...

The Canon 7D has a few bells and whistles that makes this camera great for racing type photography. Perhaps your Nikon also has some specialized auto-focus settings. YouTube videos often can often provide specific information that is not covered in the camera/lens manuals...