Thread: Beginner Looking For C&C on City Lights.

Real Name
    Mike

Beginner Looking For C&C on City Lights.

Hello All,
    I am a beginner at photography. I took some night shots of our Downtown Skyline. I was using a Nikon D7100 with a 70-300 mm Zoom. There was a fairly heavy marine layer that created a hue over the city. I am not quite sure what I am doing, I do understand what the big 3 adjustments do but I don't always know what setting is the best for what I am doing. These shots were all in ISO 400 because I just didn't think to change it. I am thinking I probably could have gotten some better shots by making some adjustments there.

Shot at F/32 with Shutter Speed at 25 Sec, ISO 400

Shot at f/18 With Shutter Speed at 5 Sec, ISO 400

Shot at F/5.6 with Shutter Speed at .62 sec, ISO 400

Shot at F/29 with Shutter Speed at 30 sec, ISO 400

Shot at F/29 with Shutter Speed at 20 sec, ISO 400
    Last edited by 2bikemike; 16th August 2013 at 03:22 PM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Beginner Looking For C&C on City Lights.

Mike

It would be good if you could give us the other key exposure factors - Aperture & Shutter Speed.

What are your own thoughts? If these were someone else's images and you were being asked to comment on them, what would you be saying?

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Hi Mike

I note Donald's comments and would be interested in your response. In the meantime, I'll offer a few comments.

I think the weather conditions might be working against you here. They seem to be creating this brownish colour that I would not expect on a nice clear night. It could be worth keeping an eye on the weather and trying these shots again on a better night.

Generally the images seem to be under-exposed. You can raise the exposure in post processing with things like Levels etc but this will also bring up the noise in the darker areas. This is one reason for using the lowest possible ISO.