Thread: More Fungi

Real Name
    Jon

More Fungi

I think I said a while back that I was done with fungus...but I couldn't help this one.

C&C appreciated.

1.More Fungi

...or this one
    2.More Fungi

Real Name
    Matthew

Re: More Fungi

Jon,

Pretty nice. Don't give up on fungi. They are one of my fave subjects. C&C:

Nice job on this. Fungi are more difficult to photograph well than most people realize. I like the black and white version a lot; great texture, tone...and very good subject/bg separation (IMO a key problem area with many b&w photos)

Color version has a WB / color balance "blue cast" due to the shady lighting. Sometimes your subject and the bg will have different WB requirements due to different lighting, and in that case, Steve S knows how to best correct for that issue. I'm no expert in PP.

Personally I'd like to see a bit more space on the bottom of the photo. It feels unbalanced / cramped at the bottom.

I find the grass blades in the foreground distracting. Also there are a few lighter colored things in the bg that are distracting. Typically I weed distractions like that out, using DOF preview to spot offending items before exposure, and using tweezers and mini scissors for the dirty work.

Real Name
    Jon

Matt, thanks for your helpful comments. I am no expert in PP either (what PP I do is very minimal). If I added more space at the bottom then there would be more distracting blades of grass in view so I chose the lesser of the two evils

I won't give up on fungus, it just seems as there are only a few people that are interested in them

Real Name
    Matthew

Jon, no problem, glad I could help. I know what you mean, that few people are interested in fungi. I posted a thread on this forum months ago with some pics, and the response was minimal. Well, we can both post our mushroom pics and enjoy and talk about them together, and if anyone else wants to join in, so be it

Quote Originally Posted by plumcrak View Post