Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Micro 4/3, seriously worth a look

Real Name
    Matt

Micro 4/3, seriously worth a look

Just wanted to share my positive transition from 35mm SLR to M43. I got an Olympus E-P3 with the twin kit and I have to say I'm blown away by the image quality, portability and system costs. I'm only an enthusiastic amateur not a pro. If you are considering a move don't disregard this very impressive system.

Real Name
    John

Re: Micro 4/3, seriously worth a look

Quote Originally Posted by MattR View Post
    Just wanted to share my positive transition from 35mm SLR to M43. I got an Olympus E-P3 with the twin kit and I have to say I'm blown away by the image quality, portability and system costs. I'm only an enthusiastic amateur not a pro. If you are considering a move don't disregard this very impressive system.
    Already have with the Olympus E-PL1, has its limitations but bonuses as well. Haven't abandoned the DSLR though.

Real Name
    Andre Burger

Matt, downgrading from a DSLR to any other format - not for me, thank you.

Real Name
    Kathy

Love my m4/3 gear, but I've hung onto my Canon gear as well. I know a lot of folks can switch, but I tend to shoot all over the board, and there are still things my dSLRs are better suited for than my little G3, or simply lenses I don't want to duplicate. I do haul the G3 out more than any of the others simply from a convenience/portability point of view. It's replaced a much largeer amount of my dSLR shooting than I anticipated when I got it initially to be my "go light" system.

Andre--waiting for the full-frame Sony MILC, are you?

I will say that realizing I could shove the G3 and five mft lenses into the Retrospective 5 that would be bursting to the seams with just my 5Dii, 135L and 24-105L was an eye-opener. That and the fact that the mft+5 lenses weighed less than half as much. The entire bag is about 5 lbs, with the bag itself weighing in around 2.5lbs.

Real Name
    Neil