Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Macro Lens

Macro Lens

Hi, I have been using my Canon 450d for about 3 months, and found myself regularly wanting to take macro photo's and would like to invest in a macro lense, preferrably for use in taking photo's of flowers and insects. I have looked at the Canon 100L USM but wondered whether it would be worth stretching to the Canon 100L IS USM? Has anyone tried the new lense is it much better or worth going the extra money?

Real Name
    Peter

Re: Macro Lens

Hi,

In my opinion, unless you want to use the 100L IS for other purposes then the IS becomes largely irrelevant as you will be using a tripod for your macro shots. This is all theory as I haven't used either lens

Peter

Real Name
    Allen

I just received the 100IS version for XMas and I can tell you that I have been down to 1/20s handheld (with flash) and pictures are amazingly sharp. I have just been shooting flowers and very closeups with extension tubes and I am simply amazed at the results. Chasing bugs outside in spring maybe a different story however!

As Peter mentioned, the question you need to ask yourself is if your going to use a tripod or not for your macro work. If all tripod go for the non-IS version and save some money.

Allen...

I haven't seen or read anything about that lens but most of my photography involves a selection of macro bugs.

This is what I use: Canon 40D with Sigma 180 mm macro lens and a strong stable tripod.

The Canon 180 mm is rated slightly higher but comes around twice the price; and the Sigma isn't exactly cheap. Personally I like the extra working distance which I gain with a 180 mm lens, say 12 to 18 ins; but the downside is a heavy and cumbersome lens which requires a tripod.

But when photographing a nervous insect that is 10 mm long and wanting to print at around 10 ins, the bigger your lens the better.