Thread: Recommended books about Post-Processing (help!)

Real Name
    Antonio Luz

Recommended books about Post-Processing (help!)

Folks,
    I am a newbie in Post-Processing and I would like to learn more about this subject.
    Which books would you recommend about Digital Photo Professional (software from Canon), Elements 10, GIMP and Post-Processing (especially RAW) in general?
    I count on you!
    Antonio.

Real Name
    Matthew

Re: Recommended books about Post-Processing (help!)

If you want to better understand and utilize the power of RAW I suggest The Digital Negative by Jeff Schewe. I am reading it currently and its very good so far but I'm not very far into it yet.

Real Name
    Dave

Good question, Antonio, and I am sure there is more than one answer. Here's my thoughts.

I agree with Mat that Jeff Schewe's book is excellent. However, it does get quite deep and could be a bit off-putting. Perhaps more importantly, from your point of view, he use Lightroom as the tool to demonstrate his ideas, and you are a DPP/Elements user. I think that would make it quite difficult to follow for a novice, as you say you are.

I think I would start by getting to know my own software quite well. I have never used DPP, but I have found Scott Kelby's book on PSE very helpful (I happen to have the PSE 9 version), though not everyone likes his style. Of course, some prefer to learn though videos and some from books - personally I like a combination - but whichever route you choose, I do think it is easier to follow theory if you have a tool that you know how to use and where you can try out ideas.

Regards,

Dave

Real Name
    Kevin

I think Dave has pinpointed the crux of the matter right from the start. I think before you waste a bunch of money in the wrong direction you need to determine how best you learn: reading, or following along.

PP'ing requires a lot of steps. Logical in the end but not necessarily immediately intuitive.